To be honest, I never really gave much thought to tomatoes. Or to the labor that goes into the process of how foods get into the supermarkets we consumers buy our food from. In retrospect, I feel as though I have been living my life as a person who feels as though food should just be ready and available to me at the grocery store. As though I somehow deserve to have food conveniently located at the store for me, the only stress being finding the best looking item for the best price.

Well, as a part of our class discussion this week, I have begun to think about these things in greater detail. From the readings assigned this week, I learned that the laborer’s who work on a tomato farm are basically enslaved by their supervisors. At first, this seemed like an exaggeration to me. But truly, they work long days, receive little pay, and have almost no benefits or job security. It’s very unfair that these individuals must work under these conditions. 

At first, I put these thoughts out of my mind because I am not the biggest fan of tomatoes, so hey, it’s not really effecting my life that much right? Wrong. In almost every food business there is a behind-the-scene’s story. As a consumer, I would love to be eating food that was produced by individuals who are treated fairly.

This brings me to my latest theory on eating meat. It seems as though this class is REALLY pushing for me to become a vegetarian, hence the reading for friday about the slaughterhouses. But I just find it hard to cut it out of my diet because I have grown up from a family which has farmers on both sides, and we just eat meat every day. It’s what we do. The article really made me sick to my stomach though, so I’m praying for a way to make the working conditions and the process of meat-producing more humane.

