This week I learned a lot from the readings and our class discussions. In Omnivore’s Dilemma I learned that corn is literally in almost everything we eat. There is an excess amount of corn produced by American farmers, and only 20% of that corn is consumed as actual corn. Eighty percent is fed to livestock, who don’t actually prefer corn in their diet. The remaining 20% is transformed into substances like high fructose corn syrup, cornstarch, or other substances which are ingredients in almost everything we eat.

To see for myself, I looked at the ingredients of the food I like to snack on, sure there is some form of corn in granola bars, mini muffins, cereal, pop tarts and ramen (the foods I snack on the most… what can I say? I’m a college student). 

It makes me wonder, is this much corn really good for us? Why would I ever choose to eat corn on it’s own if I already consume so much of it on a daily basis? Well, I believe that actual corn is probably better for you. Less chemicals and less processed, right? These days, it seems as though everything is chemically altered in some way in order to prolong an item’s shelf life.

My new obsession with corn is also mixed with our discussion about beef. Cows are force fed corn, even though this can lead to many problems for their health. In turn, when we eat beef, we are putting ourselves at risk for getting these illnesses or diseases. This makes me consider eating less beef, but then I realize that any food can contain bacteria or pose potential health risks.

